QUARTET No. 8 “Silvia’s Diary” for 2 violins, viola and violoncello

  1. Six Entries from a Diary
    • Andante libero (“I May Never Be Happy, but Tonight I am Content”)
    • Agitato molto (“I am Tempted to Write a Poem, but…”)
    • Andante sognando (“What is More Wonderful…”)
    • Allegro ma non troppo, marcato molto (“And what am I Against so Many?”)
    • Allegro moderato e scuro (“I Have This Demon…”)
    • Moderato con moto e marcato enegico (“With Me The Present is Forever…”)
  2. “I Talk to God, but the Sky is Empty…”
  3. Epilog (“…And Orion Walks by and Doesn’t Speak”)

YEAR: 2013


2 Vls, Va, Vc

Internationale Musikverlage Hans Sikorski GmbH & Co. KG
Sikorski Musikerlage

Commissioned by Hanson Institute for American Music of the Eastman School of Music at the University of Rochester

17 November 2013, Rochester
Ying Quartet